European University Institute logo State of the Union
Speakers -  The State of the Union



Antonio Tajani

Antonio Tajani was elected President of the European Parliament in 2017. He has been a member of the EP since 1994 and was previously part of the Parliament’s Bureau and the Conferences of Presidents. Between 2008 and 2010 he was Vice-President of the European Commission with responsibility for transport, with responsibility for industry and entrepreneurship. Tajani was an officer in the Italian Air Force (1974-1975) as well as a Special Envoy to Lebanon, Soviet Union and Somalia (1983-1987).