European University Institute logo State of the Union

Author Archive

James Dennison

James Dennison is a Research Fellow in the Migration Policy Centre at the EUI. He works in the Observatory of Public Attitudes to Migration on explaining and describing attitudinal formation in Europe. He was awarded a PhD in social and political sciences. He has published extensively on British, Italian and European politics and specialises in quantitative, positivist social science methods. He is the author of ‘The Greens in British Politics: Protest, Anti-Austerity and the Divided Left’. James previously held positions at the University of Oxford, where he taught quantitative methods. He regularly writes blogs and provides information for media about his research.

Continue Reading

Peter Vis

Peter is an Adviser at the European Commission’s European Political Strategy Centre since 1 April 2018, working in particular with Mr Jos Delbeke, Senior Adviser and former Director-General of DG Climate Action. For the academic year 2014-2015 Peter was EU Visiting Fellow at Oxford University. He has worked for the European Commission for 28 years, mostly in the areas of climate change, renewable energy and transport. From 2010-2014 he was Head of Cabinet to the European Commissioner for Climate Action, Connie Hedegaard. He also worked in the Cabinet of former Energy Commissioner Andris Piebalgs.

Continue Reading

Nicola Pochettino

Nicola Pochettino works at the European Investment Bank (EIB) in Luxembourg. He is currently Head of the Electricity Networks Division within the Energy Department of EIB’s Project Directorate. Prior to joining the EIB, he worked at the International Energy Agency in Paris and in various positions in the financial sector and the energy industry, both in Italy and the UK. Nicola is a CFA charterholder and holds a master of science in nuclear engineering from the Polytechnic of Turin and a master’s degree in energy economics and management.

Continue Reading

Monica Scatasta

Monica Scatasta is Head of Environment, Climate and Social Policy and of the European Investment Bank (EIB)’s Environment, Climate and Social Office (ECSO). She joined EIB in 2003 and, before joining ECSO, was the Head of the Water and Waste Management Division. Scatasta is a specialist with over 20 years of experience in policy advisory and project financing, primarily in water resources management, water services, climate change and disaster risk management. Prior to joining the EIB, Ms Scatasta spent 10 years in Washington DC, where she worked at the World Bank and the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI).

Continue Reading

Karl-Heinz Lambertz

Karl-Heinz Lambertz was elected as President of the European Committee of the Regions (CoR) in 2017 after two and a half years as First Vice-President. He is a member of the Belgian Senate representing the German-Speaking Community. He has held numerous Ministerial posts in the German-speaking Community Government and was its Minister-President from 1999-2014. He was President of Parliament until 2016 before taking the post as Senator. Lambertz has been a CoR member since 2001 and since 2000, he has been a Member of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe in which he is currently Vice-President.

Continue Reading