European University Institute logo State of the Union
Speakers - State of the Union



Ayhan Kaya

Ayhan Kaya is Professor of Politics and Jean Monnet Chair of European Politics of Interculturalism, and the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence at the Department of International Relations, Istanbul Bilgi University. Kaya is a member of the Science Academy, Turkey. He worked and taught at the European University Viadrina as Aziz Nesin Chair in 2013. In 2011 he was the Willy Brandt Chair at Malmö University, Sweden. Kaha’s research interests include European identities; Euro-Turks in Germany, France, Belgium and the Netherlands; Circassian diaspora in Turkey; the construction and articulation of modern transnational identities; populist movements in Europe; and Islamophobia. He received his PhD and MA degrees at the University of Warwick, England. Kaya received Turkish Social Science Association Prize in 2003. In 2005 he was awarded the Turkish Academy of Sciences (TÜBA-GEBİP) Prize and the Sedat Simavi Research Prize in 2005. In 2008 he won the Euroactiv European Prize.