The State of the Union was created by the European University Institute (EUI).

badia fiesolana

The EUI is an international organisation dedicated to post-graduate and post-doctoral education in the social sciences. It was set up in 1972 by the six founding member states of the European Communities to provide advanced academic training to doctoral researchers and to promote research at the highest level. It opened its doors to the first researchers in 1976.

The EUI community has around 1,000 members. Researchers, teaching and administrative staff are mainly but not exclusively recruited from EU member states. The EUI excels with an integrated, multidisciplinary approach to both teaching and research and transcends national academic traditions.

It carries out research in a European perspective within four departments: EconomicsLawHistory and Civilisation, and the Political and Social Sciences.

The EUI is home to the Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies, an interdisciplinary research and policy centre focusing on European and international themes. The Historical Archives of the European Union are also based at the Institute.