Carlos Batlle

Written by on . Posted in Session 3 - EU Energy Policy

Carlos Batlle at the State of the Union conference 2012

Carlos Batlle – Associate Research Professor with Comillas Pontifical University’s Institute for Research in Technology (IIT) in Madrid, visiting scholar at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s MIT Energy Initiative (MITEI) and member of the Training Program for European…

Ferdinando Beccalli-Falco

Written by on . Posted in Session 3 - EU Energy Policy

Ferdinando Beccalli Falco on May 2012 in Florence at the SoU

Ferdinando Beccalli-Falco – was named President and CEO of GE Europe & North Asia and CEO GE Germany in January 2011. Beccalli-Falco is responsible for driving the growth of the business in the developed markets outside the U.S., including Europe, Japan and Korea. He works across GE’s businesses to help identify and develop new market opportunities as well…

Ronnie Belmans

Written by on . Posted in Session 3 - EU Energy Policy

Ronnie Belmans at the State of the Union 2012 in Florence

Ronnie Belmans received his MS degree in Electrical Engineering in 1979 and PhD degree in 1984, both from the KULeuven, Belgium, his Special Doctorate in 1989 and his Habilitierung in 1993, both from the RWTH in Aachen, Germany. Currently, he is a full professor with the KULeuven, teaching electric power and energy systems. His research interests include techno-economic aspects of power systems, power quality and distributed generation…

Inge Bernaerts

Written by on . Posted in Session 3 - EU Energy Policy

Inge Bernaerts at the State of the Union 2012 in Florence

Inge Bernaerts has a law degree from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven and a Master in European Law from the Universität des Saarlandes. She speaks Dutch, English, French and German. Member of the Brussels bar, she practiced European competition law in leading international law firms and was teaching seminars on European law for 8 years. From 2003 onwards, Inge Bernaerts works for the European Commission. She worked in the Competition Directorate General, in the field of telecommunications and broadcasting, then as Assistant to the Director General for competition…

Simon Blakey

Written by on . Posted in Session 3 - EU Energy Policy

Simon Blakey State of the Union 2012

Simon Blakey, Special Envoy for EUROGAS, is a leading authority on the European energy industry. Before joining EUROGAS in 2010, Mr. Blakey was the founder of the European natural gas and power research practices at CERA (Cambridge Energy Research Associates). His research and consulting assignments covered a broad range of strategic issues for European companies active in natural gas…

Walter Boltz

Written by on . Posted in Session 3 - EU Energy Policy

Walter Boltz at the State of the Union 2012

Speaker – 10 May, 14.00 – 15.30

SESSION 3 – EU Energy Policy

Panel 3 – Implementing Security of Supply


Walter Boltz, Vienna 1953. Executive Director E-Control Austria.

1970/71 Graduation from high school in both the USA and Austria

1971-76 Degree in technical physics at the Vienna University of Technology

1991-1996 Consultant for […]

Guido Bortoni

Written by on . Posted in Session 3 - EU Energy Policy

Guido Bortoni on May 2012 in Florence at the SoU

Guido Bortoni is President of the Italian Electricity and Gas Regulatory Authority since February 2011. Vice- President of The Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER) since March 2012. Born in Pavia on 15 December 1960. Married with three children. Took a degree with honours in electrical engineering at the Pavia University and a postgraduate Master’s Degree in MBA at the MIP-Milan Polytechnic. Member of the Administrative Board of the Agency for the Cooperation of National Energy Regulators- A.C.E.R. (since 2009)…

Carlo Carraro

Written by on . Posted in Session 3 - EU Energy Policy

Carlo Carraro at the SoU conference 2012

Professor Carlo Carraro is President of the Università Ca’ Foscari Venezia, where he is also Professor of Environmental Economics and Econometrics and President of the Ca’ Foscari University Foundation. He holds a Ph.D. from Princeton University. He is Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei (FEEM) and Director of the Climate Impacts and Policy Division of the Euro Mediterranean Centre for Climate Change (CMCC). In 2008, Carlo Carraro has been elected Vice-Chair of the Working Group III and Member of the Bureau of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). He is also Director of the International Centre for Climate Governance (ICCG)…

Jean-François Cirelli

Written by on . Posted in Session 3 - EU Energy Policy

Jean Francois Cirelli at the State of the Union

Jean-François Cirelli – is a graduate of Institut d’Etudes Politiques de Paris and of Ecole Nationale d’Administration; he also has a law degree. From 1985 to 1995, Mr Cirelli held management positions at the Treasury department of the Ministry of Economy and Finance before becoming an advisor to the President of the French Republic from 1995 to 1997, then economic…

Jacques de Jong

Written by on . Posted in Session 3 - EU Energy Policy

Jacques de Jong SoU in Florence on May 2012

Jacques de Jong is Senior Fellow at Clingendael International Energy Programme (CIEP).
In 2003, Jacques de Jong joined CIEP as a senior fellow, after a distinguished career in government energy policy making. Since 1971 he has been working for the Dutch ministry of Economic Affairs, where he was working on oil and international energy policy issues, especially in the context of the IEA…